The 15 Types of Koi by Michael Tan

Koi is an ornamental carp that is quite attractive. They come in many different color patterns. The first koi were first koi were bred for color in the 1800s in Japan, since then different color variations have come up. There are many different types of koi. The following are 15 of the most common.

1. The kohaku which is red on a white background. The red should be a uniform shade with well defined edges where it meets the white. In addition it should be well balanced and cover between 50% and 70% of the body.

2. Sanke is a white koi which has red and black markings. The hue of the markings should be deep with well defined edges. Also, they should be balanced when observed together or individually.

3. The showa is also white, red and black in color. The black and red are dominant and should be deep.

4. The asagi is gray or blue on the back and red or orange on the underside. The scales should be darker blue or gray at the center and become lighter or white at the edges. The red or orange should also extend to the pectoral fins' base.

5. The ogon has only one color. This should be even without any markings.

6. The chagoi has a color that varies from light tan to a dark green. The edges of their scales are black.

7. Tancho koi has a red mark on its head. It is a variety of the other types.

8. The utsurimomo koi is black with white, yellow or red markings on the body. The black on the head should extend to its nose.

9. The bekko koi is white, red or yellow with ebony black spots scattered all over its body. The edges of the black markings should be well defined.

10. The shusui koi has a blue or gray marking along its dorsal line and red or orange extending from the underside to the lateral line. The blue or gray scales should be evenly aligned along the dorsal line. The shusui is also partially scaled.

11. Doitsu koi are either partially scaled or not scaled. The partially scaled doitsu have large scales along their dorsal and lateral lines.

12. Koromo are kohaku with red markings. What makes them different from the kohaku is an indigo along the edges of the scales on the red markings.

13. The goshiki koi is white, red, black, blue and dark blue in color. This often gives them a purplish appearance.

14. The ochiba shigure is green or gray with a filigree reticulation of brown.

15. Midori goi koi is yellow green in color and is either partially scaled or non-scaled.

Koi types are distinguished through their color and escalation. However, there are certain standards a fish has to meet for it to be termed a true koi. The main consideration is the balance in color and for the mixed color types, the definition of the edges where the colors meet.

About the Author

For more information on the koi types, visit our website at

Sign Up for our Free Newsletter

Enter email address here